Inductees 2016 - Roll of Honour - Vida Jean Wright (18 Dec 1915 to 30 July 2005)

Roll of Honor - Vida Jean Wright (18 Dec 1915 to 30 July 2005)

Vida Wright Studied Architecture and Town Planning in a time when women were not seen in these professions, she was the only woman in a class of males.

She was appointed the Shire of Wanneroo Shire Planner in August 1969, making her the first female Shire Planner in Local Government in Australia. Planning for the City of Joondalup, Whitford’s precinct and many other sites originated during Vida’s term of office.

Her legacy is the beautiful City of Joondalup and it’s surrounds up and down the Coast.

Vida was also one of the small group of women who became a founding member of the Joondalup Club of Soroptimist International, she was an outstanding Regional Co-ordinator for the Human Rights and Status of Women international program area.

Her certificate will be collected by her niece Dorothy Littmann.

Article Index
Inductees 2016
Hon. Cheryl Davenport
Mrs Oriel Green
Reverend Pam Halbert
Glenda Kickett
Annette Knight
Drisana Levitzke-Gray
Honourable Justice Carmel McLure
Holly-ann Martin
Professor Margaret Seares AO
Dr Erica Smyth
Roll of Honour - Robin Adamson (d. 2015)
Roll of Honour - Ada Bromham (1880 - 1965)
Roll of Honour - Ruby Florence Hutchison (1892 – 1974)
Roll of Honour - Sister Mary Martin Kelly (1930 - 1987)
Roll of Honour - Melvina Alice Rowley (d. 2016)
Roll of Honour - Vida Jean Wright (18 Dec 1915 to 30 July 2005)
All Pages

follow us on